Phone Number:


History of 4CS

The Beginnings
Past Leaders and Members

4cs awards

The Beginnings


Laura U’Ren, classified staff from Irvine Valley College, made presentation at the CCLC Annual Convention regarding classified senates.


First organizational meeting occurred during the CCLC Annual Conference – the state was split into four sections. Tamara Carnine, classified staff from Irvine Valley College was selected as the key contact person.

Advisory Board:

  • North – Lena Newman, Butte College and Christina Witkowski – College of San Mateo
  • Central – Karen Garrett, Merced College and MaryAnne Fry – San Joaquin Delta College
  • South – Tamara Carnine and Laura U’ren, IVC and Marge Nielsen – Saddleback College


In March, at the Staff Diversity Conference – the Phone Tree was established, Officers and Reps were selected, Goals and Purposes were discussed. Ad Hoc California Community College Classified Senate was approved and established.

Ad Hoc Committee:

  • Chair – Tamara Carnine – Irvine Valley College
  • Secretary – Mary Thompson – Chaffey College
  • Treasurer – Pattie McPhun – Ventura District
  • Area Representatives: – Victina Bella – West Valley, Betty Crenshaw – Diablo Valley, Theresa Frahm – Los Medanos, Karen Garrett – Merced, Fedrual Harrison – Miramar, Cathy Vent – Ventura, Wendy Link – Columbia, Nancy Matthews – Chaffey, Reggi McCoy – LA Southwest, Paul Mercier – Mt. SAC, Lena Newman – Butte, Sally Smith – San Barnardino Valley, Craig Stenvall – Butte, Catherine Swenson – Sierra, Cari Plyley – Butte.

First Constitution and Bylaws drafted by the 4CS Ad Hoc Committee in November.


At a general session meeting at the CCLC Annual Convention in November, representative delegates from classified senates across the state approved (ratified) the first 4CS Constitution and Bylaws.


The first Executive Board of the California Community Colleges Classified Senate was elected by the state’s classified senate delegates in November. David Viar, CCLC Executive Director was invited to install the first officers and representatives. They were as follows: (President) Mary Thompson – Chaffey College; (Regional V.P.) Jeffrey Kennedy – Contra Costa, Gloria McLeod – Chaffey College & Laura U’Ren – Irvine Valley College; (Secretary) Bea Griffiths – Santa Rosa Jr. College, (Treasurer) Shirley Schmid – Pasadena City College, (Past Chair/AdHoc Committee) Tamara Carmine – Irvine Valley College; Area Representatives: (Bay) Mike West – Los Medanos College, Yvonne Lewis – Laney College, Christina Witkowski – College of San Mateo; (Central) Ron Duva – San Joaquin Delta College, Beverly Lencioni – Merced College; (North) Craig Stenvall – Butte College, Vicki Byers – Sacramento City College; (Southeast) Fedrual Harrision – Miramar College, Wesley Goodvin – Southwestern College, Marianne Hatherill – Rancho Santiago; (Southwest) Ed Haines – Pasadena City College, Mary Sandoval – Mt. San Antonio College.